Type to search

World Architecture Festival: 2014 Shortlist


The selection committee for the 2014 World Architecture Festival has announced the shortlist for this year’s awards. The festival, which hosts one of the world’s biggest architecture award programs, will be held at the Marina Bay Sands resort in Singapore from 1 to 3 October 2014.

Entries have been accepted for 28 individual categories:

Completed Buildings: Civic and community; Culture; Display; Health; Higher education/research; Hotel/leisure; House; Housing; New and Old; Office; Production/energy/recycling; Schools; Shopping; Sport; Transport; and Villa.
Landscape Projects: Completed designs – rural and urban.
Future Projects: Commercial mixed-use; Competition entries; Culture; Education; Experimental; Health; House; Infrastructure; Leisure-led development; Master-planning; Office; and Residential.

Architects of each shortlisted project will be invited to present their project to a panel of judges. The winners from all categories will go on to compete for the ‘World Building of the Year’ award, which is presided over by the festival’s ‘super jury’ panel.

This year’s super jury panel comprises some of the world’s leading architects and designers, including Richard Rogers, Rocco Yim, Julie Eizenberg, Enric Ruiz Geli and Peter Rich.

Apart from the awards ceremony, the festival also hosts conference meets, panel discussions and talks. The theme for this year’s main conference session is: ‘Architects and the City’. Speakers will examine the contribution of architects in other disciplines such as, politics, infrastructure, planning, communities and technology.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *