Type to search

IDEA 2020 Designer of the Year finalists


IDEA 2020 Designer of the Year finalists


The shortlist for the IDEA 2020 Designers of the Year have been announced, recognising the incredible contribution of seven amazing practices.

The shortlisted designers are listed below in a dedicated video and featured on the IDEA website where you can find more information about each.

The shortlist of designers were selected by our editorial team. A further round of judging by our jury – Andrew Parr, Hana Hakim, Rachel Luchetti, Simone Haag, Anna Spiro, Brendan Wong and Jeremy Bull – will determine the final Designer of the Year, which will be announced at our annual IDEA gala.

Here is the IDEA 2020 Designer of the Year shortlist. This special award is proudly supported by Krost.

The emphasis in assessment of this special award will focus on work submitted to this year’s IDEA competition, with practices that demonstrate a consistently high calibre of output across a variety of typologies being highly regarded.

To celebrate this year’s shortlisted designers, we’ve also put together a retrospective looking back at another of our special awards: the IDEA Gold Medal.

The IDEA Gold Medal is the most prestigious award at the Interior Design Excellence Awards, and is given in recognition of those practitioners who have made an influential and enduring contribution to Australian design culture over the course of a career.

Last year’s winner and IDEA 2020 judge, Andrew Parr, kicks off this special video, which features all our past winners!

The 2020 Gold Medal winner will be announced at our gala event. Members of the IDEA jury individually nominate candidates for the award. This category is proudly sponsored by Cult.

Find out more about the Designer of the Year finalists on their dedicated IDEA page. Congratulations to everyone who has been shortlisted.

See all the shortlisted projects for IDEA 2020.

Subscribe for updates:

To receive regular updates about IDEA, including details on how to enter next year, subscribe to our newsletter.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *