Type to search

National Architecture Conference: Risk

National Architecture Conference: Risk


Above image: Risk Creative Directors, Hamish-Lyon, Andrew-Mackenzie and Donald-Bates.

This year’s 2015 National Architecture Conference, organised by the Australian Institute of Architects, will examine the changing role of risk in architecture.

Curated by Hamish Lyon, Andrew Mackenzie, and Donald Bates, the conference explores the troubled nexus between the architectural necessity of risk-taking, and a building environment predicated by risk minimisation and business.

‘No one wants to be a safe architect… Safety is conventional and predictable,’ the organisers state, while adding contentiously, ‘few buildings, developers or government departments aspire to risk taking.’

The conference will feature an impressive line up of over twenty keynote speakers from Europe, America, Australia, and Asia. In addition, extended panel discussions, short sessions, and fringe events will bring together the work and ideas of many Australian architects.

‘These exciting speakers come from within and outside the profession, small practices and large practices, public sector and private sector, creating a diverse conversation to push our profession forward at a time when our role is challenged,’ the Creative Directors announced.

The conference speakers will break down the topic of risk into four aspects relating to the architectural profession: cultural relevance, architectural pedagogy, professional practice, and the discipline of architecture.

Risk Speakers:

Caroline Bos – UNStudio, Netherlands David Gianotten – OMA

Hong Kong Kasper Jensen – 3XN

Denmark Cheong Koon Hean – Housing and Development Board

Singapore Gregg Pasquarelli – ShoP Architects

USA Deborah Saunt – DSDHA

United Kingdom Mitchell Silver – City of New York

USA Jeremy Till – Jeremy Till

United Kingdom Thomas Bailey – Room11

Australia Camilla Block – Durbach Block Jaggers

Australia Anthony Burke – University of Technology Sydney

Australia John Choi – CHROFI

Australia John Daley- Grattan Institute

Australia Kristen Green – KGA Architecture

Australia Ben Hewett – NSW Government Architect’s Office

Australia Jeremy McLeod – Breathe Architecture

Australia Juliet Moore – Edwards Moore

Australia Paul Morgan – Paul Morgan Architects

Australia Finn Pederson – Iredale Pedersen Hook

Australia Hannah Tribe – Tribe Studio

Australia Suzannah Waldron – Searle x Waldron

Australia Charles Wright – Wright Architects, Australia

The conference will take place from 14 to 16 May 2015. For more information, click here.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *