Type to search

World Architecture Festival 2014: Meet the judges


The 2014 World Architecture Festival is one of the world’s most coveted architecture and design programs. This year’s event will be held in Singapore from 1-3 October 2014.

Entrants will compete across three category groups of completed buildings, landscape projects and future projects. Each category has its own judging panel. This year’s judges include Michael Kokora, OMA Asia; Manuelle Gautrand, Manuelle Gautrand Architecture; Dietmar Eberle, Baumshlager Eberle; Kim Nielsen 3XN and Chan Soo Khian, SCDA.

The World Building of the Year
This year the World Building of the Year Super Jury will be chaired by RIBA Gold Medalist and Pritzker Prize winner Richard Rogers. Also on the panel will be: Julie Eizenberg, Koning Eizenberg; Peter Rich, Peter Rich Architects; Enric Ruiz Geli, Cloud 9 Architects and Rocco Yim Rocco Design Associates.

The Future Project of the Year
Submissions are allowed into 12 future project categories for any project that has not been completed and even those that never will be finished. The jury includes: Kai Uwe Bergman, BIG; Eva Castro, Plasma Studio; Sir Peter Cook, Crab Studio; Michael Rayner, Cox Rayner Architecture; and Richard Francis Jones, FJMT.

The Landscape Project of the Year
The judging panel in this category includes, Jana Crepon, Inside Outside; and Herbert Dreiseitl, Atelier Dreiseitl and Henry Steed, ICN International.

The winners of each category will be put forward to compete for the coveted World Building of the Year award, presided over by the festival’s ‘super-jury’. This year’s super jury panel comprises some of the world’s leading architects and designers, including Richard Rogers, Rocco Yim, Julie Eizenberg, Enric Ruiz Geli and Peter Rich.

The WAF awards are distributed among 28 individual categories:

Completed Buildings: Civic and community; Culture; Display; Health; Higher education/research; Hotel/leisure; House; Housing; New and Old; Office; Production/energy/recycling; Schools; Shopping; Sport; Transport; and Villa.

Landscape Projects: Completed designs – rural and urban.

Future Projects: Commercial mixed-use; Competition entries; Culture; Education; Experimental; Health; House; Infrastructure; Leisure-led development; Master-planning; Office; and Residential.

Last day to enter the competition is Friday, 30 May 2014. Last day to submit entries for the Wood Excellence Prize is also 30 May.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *