Type to search

2014 NSW Architecture Awards entries close soon


Entries for the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2014 NSW Architecture Awards will close on Tuesday 11 March. Nominations are currently open for projects within New South Wales completed before January 2014.

The category for submissions include: Public Architecture, Urban Design, Commercial Architecture, Interior Architecture, Residential Architecture (Houses, Alterations and Additions, and Multiple Housing categories); and the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture. Where applicable, the projects may be entered into more than one category.

Submissions are also open for the annual Marion Mahony Griffin Prize, the David Lindner Prize, the Emerging Architect Prize and the Adrian Ashton Prize for Architecture in the Media sponsored by Bates Smart.

A jury comprising 16 industry leaders and architects and three former NSW Architecture Award recipients – Tony Caro, Penny Fuller and Stephen Varady – will select the winners.

NSW Chapter President Joe Agius said a change to this year’s awards was the redefinition and splitting of the Residential Architecture – Houses category.

“The category of Residential Architecture – Houses has been split into two categories: Residential Architecture – Houses (New); and Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions). This split aims to recognise and celebrate the great work undertaken by architects today in the fields of new residential builds and renovations,” he said.

“This is a unique chance for the public to hear the stories behind a host of recent projects across New South Wales as well as gain some valuable insights into the latest trends in residential architecture,” he added.

The awards will be presented at a special presentation ceremony in Sydney on Thursday 26 June.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *