Type to search

IDEA 2021 to include new Community Services category

IDEA 2021 to include new Community Services category


IDEA 2021 is now open for standard entries and will include for the first time in its 19-year history, a special award for pro-bono and community-focused projects.

As Australia’s oldest independent interior design and architecture award, IDEA celebrates the year’s best projects, and the individuals and studios behind them. Start your entry now for your chance to win.

There are 14 project categories across architecture, interiors and design as well as five special awards and our new community services award.

Community Services category

The new Community Services category has been introduced to acknowledge the positive impact interior design and architecture have had on our community or not-for-profit sectors. 

To be eligible for this award, the constructed project or interior: 

  • must have been delivered as a pro bono service or at a significantly reduced fee,
  • must demonstrate a long-term, positive impact on individuals and/or groups that are community based, not-for-profit or high risk; and/or
  • must demonstrate that the project benefits users that wouldn’t normally have access to design expertise.
  • must have been completed between January 2018 and July 2021

As part of their application, entrants will be asked to provide a 300-word description of how the project benefited the community, high risk groups and/or neighbourhood.

Judges will be looking in particular at the contribution of the architect or designer in delivering the project. 

All entry fees for this category will be donated to the charity nominated by the winning practice or studio. 

Visit the IDEA website to find out more about our new Community Services category. And if you’re interested in sponsoring this category, drop us a line at paul.lidgerwood@niche.com.au.

Extended entry eligibility

We know that 2020 was tough, so this year, we’ve extended the entry period for eligible projects.

Projects completed between January 2020 and June 2021 are eligible for entry into IDEA 2021 as long as they haven’t been entered in previous years.

Who will be judging IDEA 2021?

Every year, a panel of seven superstars head up our jury. This year, we have selected a diverse group of designers with a wealth of experience in almost every sector.

So far, we’ve revealed five jury members. Workplace designer and Hassell principal Domino Risch, Melbourne interior designers Chelsea Hing and Brahman Perera, IDEA 2020 Designer of the Year David Flack and Adelaide designer and director Ryan Genesin.

In the next two weeks, we’ll be unveiling our final two judges as well as our special Sustainability judge – stay tuned!

40 days left to enter

You have until midnight on Friday 11 June to enter IDEA 2021Start your entry today so you don’t miss out!

Visit our how to enter page for more information. Drop us a line at idea@niche.com.au if you have any problems completing your entry.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *