Type to search

St Kilda architecture practices win Victorian Pride Centre design competition

St Kilda architecture practices win Victorian Pride Centre design competition


St Kilda-based architecture practices Grant Amon Architects and Brearley Architects and Urbanists have been announced as the winners of the Victorian Pride Centre design competition.

The pair beat off competition from 18 other practices including BKK and Sibling Architecture, Hayball, and Preston Lane Architects.

Victorian Pride Centre chair Jude Munro said she wanted the winning design “to be a building that our LGBTQI community can be proud of owning, a place of celebration and a safe sanctuary.

A concept image of the interior of Victorian Pride Centre

“This design is inspirational and more than satisfies these criteria. Our aim is for the Pride Centre to be a catalyst for the revival of Fitzroy Street and to fit into the St Kilda design vernacular, which this design does superbly.”

The entries were judged by Dimity Reed (chair, retired architect and writer), Tim Bamford (principal, Tim Bamford Consulting), Stephen Barrow (Victoria Pride Centre board member), Sophie Dyring (Schored Projects), Peter Elliott (Peter Elliott Architecture and Urban Design), Jill Garner (Victorian Government Architect) and Shane Murray (dean, Monash University, Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture).

Exterior of the new Victorian Pride Centre

The 16,000-square metre site on St Kilda’s Fitzroy Street will house 10 major LGBTI organisations including JOY FM, the Victorian Aids Council, LGBTQI Multi Culture, Multi Faith, Team Melbourne and the Australian Lesbian and Gay Archives.

The State Government and Port Phillip Council have contributed $28 million in funding for the centre.

Construction is on schedule to start later this year, with the centre due to be open by the end of 2020.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *